Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Congressman Dan Kildee Announces Winner of Fifth District Congressional Art Competition

June 7, 2021
Press Release
Kildee Congratulates Saginaw’s Alaina Curry, Celebrates Achievements of Mid-Michigan Student Artists
FLINT—Congressman Dan Kildee (MI-05), Chief Deputy Whip of the House Democratic Caucus, today announced the winner of the Congressional Art Competition for Michigan’s Fifth District. The winner, Alaina Curry, is a senior at Saginaw Arts and Sciences Academy.
A panel of community judges selected Curry as this year’s winner. The Saginaw Arts and Sciences Academy senior’s winning piece is an oil pastel on paper entitled “Mandisa: Natural Beauty.” A high-resolution photo of Curry’s artwork can be viewed here.
“I am excited to announce this year’s Congressional Art Competition winner from Saginaw, Alaina Curry, whose artwork will be proudly displayed in the U.S. Capitol. Each time I walk to the Capitol I will walk past Alaina’s artwork and be reminded of the incredible talent in our district,” said Congressman Kildee. “I am grateful to all the participants, teachers, community judges and families for their work this year.”
As the winner, Curry’s artwork will go on display in the Cannon Tunnel to the U.S. Capitol alongside winners from other congressional districts across the country. Curry will have the opportunity to come to Washington, D.C. later this year with other winning student artists for a reception and ribbon cutting hosted by Congressman Kildee and the Congressional Art Caucus.
LaNaysha Simms, a senior at Saginaw Arts and Sciences Academy was selected as runner-up, with her piece, a photograph entitled “Change in Action.” Meghan Smith, a sophomore at Lake Fenton High School, came in third place with her colored pencil drawing “Untitled.”
Eleven leading local artists, educators and community leaders continued the tradition of choosing the competition’s winning piece of art. The judges were Phillip Hanson, Sara Clark, Hideki Kihata, Matthew Zivich, Michelle Randall, Dr. Emily Kelley, Greg Fiedler, Harold Hill, Felicia Rose-Barry, Lynette Thomas and Jesse Shim.
The Congressional Art Competition recognizes the artistic talents of high school students from each congressional district around the nation. The annual event is sponsored by the members of the U.S. House of Representative’s Congressional Art Caucus.