Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Reps. Kildee, Fitzpatrick Launch Congressional PFAS Task Force

January 23, 2019
Press Release

Bipartisan Group of Members Will Work Together to Educate the Public, Craft Legislation to More Urgently Address PFAS Chemical Contamination Around U.S.

Congressman Dan Kildee (MI-05), Chief Deputy Whip of the House Democratic Caucus, joined Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01) today to announce the formation of the bipartisan Congressional PFAS Task Force.

Comprised of both Republicans and Democrats in the U.S. House of Representatives, the PFAS Task Force will work to more urgently address the public health threat of per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) to better protect communities from the harmful effects of these dangerous chemicals. In the new Congress, the Task Force will work to:

  • Hold informational events to educate Members of Congress and their staff to increase awareness about PFAS chemicals.
  • Craft legislation to address PFAS contamination.
  • Meet with congressional leadership, committee chairs and ranking members to ensure PFAS is adequately and more urgently addressed.
  • Fight for more robust funding through federal appropriations to clean up PFAS contamination.

Congressman Dan Kildee (MI-05) announces the bipartisan Congressional PFAS Task Force.

“Each week, more PFAS chemical contamination sites are being identified across the country. Hundreds of communities are already affected by this growing public health threat, and Congress must do more to address PFAS contamination. That’s why Republicans and Democrats are teaming up to create the PFAS Task Force, where Members of Congress can work together to advocate for policies and funding to better protect the communities we represent impacted by PFAS contamination. Every American deserves to know that their drinking water is safe and that the community they live in is safe from chemical contamination. I’m proud to launch this PFAS Task Force along with Congressman Fitzpatrick and glad that so many of our colleagues, on both sides of the aisle, have already joined our efforts,” Congressman Kildee said.

“For residents of Bucks and Montgomery counties and communities around the nation, action must be immediately taken on a federal level to remediate PFAS contamination,” said Congressman Fitzpatrick. “The establishment of the PFAS Task Force will put the issue of clean drinking water front and center in Washington, D.C., which is a critical step in the right direction to protecting the American people from exposure to these harmful chemicals. I am proud to lead this bipartisan task force with Congressman Kildee and I look forward to continuing to fight for the safety and health of our constituents.”

Congressman Kildee has worked with Republicans and Democrats at all levels of government to more urgently address PFAS contamination. In Congress, Congressman Kildee has previously introduced legislation to ensure that veterans and their families exposed to toxic PFAS chemicals at military installations get the health care services and benefits they need through the U.S. Department of Veterans’ Affairs (VA). Kildee has also introduced legislation to speed up clean-up efforts and detect PFAS contamination at other sites across the country. Additionally, working with Michigan U.S. Senators Debbie Stabenow and Gary Peters, Congressman Kildee worked to include language authorizing a health study on PFAS exposure in the National Defense Authorization Act, which became law in December 2017.

Members of Congress who have joined Congressman Kildee and Congressman Fitzpatrick on the Congressional PFAS Task Force are Congressman Ben Ray Lujan (NM-03), Congressman Peter King (NY-03), Congressman McGovern (MA-02), Congressman Fred Upton (MI-06), Congressman Bill Huizenga (MI-02), Congresswoman Debbie Dingell (MI-12), Congressman Mike Turner (OH-10), Congressman Brendan Boyle (PA-02), Congressman Tim Walberg (MI-07), Congresswoman Brenda Lawrence (MI-14), Congressman Jack Bergman (MI-01), Congresswoman Madeleine Dean (PA-04), Congressman Antonio Delgado (NY-19), Congressman Andy Levin (MI-09), Congresswoman Haley Stevens (MI-11), Congresswoman Elissa Slotkin (MI-08), Congresswoman Rashida Tlaib (MI-13) and Congressman Chris Pappas (NH-04).